Anxiety, it’s more than just temporary worry or fear

Many people suffer from anxiety, so don’t worry if you do, or think you might you aren’t alone. You might feel anxious when faced with a problem at work, before taking a test, or making an important decision. But anxiety disorders involve more than temporary worry or fear. For a person with an anxiety disorder, the anxiety does not go away and can get worse over time. The feelings can interfere with daily activities such as job performance, school work, and relationships. Anxiety disorders are the most common mental illness in The United States.

 

Anxiety About Pleasing Parents

       For me personally, and many other teenagers, anxiety coming from wanting to please parents is a big aspect of everyday life. I am an elite swimmer who competes on the 15th highest ranking team in the nation. My parents use swimming as a good way to put loads of pressure on me. Now, not only am I dealing with the expectations and goals that I have set for myself, but now my parents add a whole new level of anxiety that my coach could never cause. My parents set their own goals for how I need to preform, and unfortunately they don’t keep them to themselves. I can get out of the pool after swimming a race and know that the time will not hold up to the expectations that my parents had set for me. Even if I had swam a fast time that I would be proud of, if it didn’t hold up to their expectations, then I would feel like I had failed them. I swim on three teams, the aforementioned one, and two which that are supposed to be for fun. Unfortunately, they aren’t much fun because my dad happens to be the coach of  both of those teams. Anyone who has had a parent as a coach understands the extra pressure that is put on you. Now, not only are you doing your best to hold up to everyone’s expectations, but now you must also uphold the stereotype that goes along with being a “coach’s kid”. A similar situation occurs with my mom and the grades I get in school. Between swim and the difficulty of the classes I am taking I can think that a grade is good, but my mom will be severely disappointed. All the pressure from my parents can kind of make you feel like you will never be good enough. Not being good enough, especially for parents, is something that many teenagers deal with on a regular basis. This feeling often causes anxiety. I don’t think that parents really know how serious of an effect they have on their kids when they are setting expectations for them to surpass. Anxiety from parents comes from many topics and can lead to someone drowning in the anxiety they are feeling.

signs2png.jpg (450×244)

Anxiety Due to Competition

A lot of teens have anxiety about comparison between siblings. Parents may want you to live up to the expectations that siblings have set, or the expectations of teachers that have had your siblings in the years before have created. As for me, it was more of an inner comparison. My sibling is my twin. We are both in advanced classes, and when I was young it didn’t make a difference to me. However in middle school I was put into a lower math class. My twin learns much faster than I do, and doesn’t have to study for  a test in order to get an A. Eventually, I would start comparing report cards to see if I got higher grades just to make myself feel better. As time went on, we started having the same teachers or the same classes. I would spend so much time studying and learning what I needed to learn, but it would only him ten to thirty minutes to do all his homework. It made it a lot worse when I wouldn’t understand something and I would have to ask my twin for help. I felt stupid, so much so that I refused to ask him for any help with my homework or studying. In addition, I refused to tell him what percentage I got on a test, unless I felt like I did well, or he told me that he did poorly.

12918000_1784530191777446_659624474_n.jpg (480×480)

Anxiety affects 40 million adults in the United States ages 18 and older, or 18% of the population. Many kids have anxiety  because they failed a test and they are afraid that their parents will be disappointed in them. As you go through school you realize that some parents reward their kids if they get all A’s, while other parents will ground their kids if they get a B. Also, on the first day of school many kids have either just moved to the school or you are an incoming freshman and you don’t know where things are in the school or your classes. You have anxiety because you feel like you are an outcast and people will make fun of you.anxiety-disorders.jpg (639×381)

When you have anxiety you might feel anxious when faced with a problem at work, before taking a test, or making an important decision. Anxiety is the feeling where you’re unsure if anybody cares about you or the feeling that people are using you and setting you up to fail. Whether that be family, friends, or coaches. Anxiety is the overwhelming feeling that you’re not good enough and that you have to do certain things in order for you to succeed and to be liked. Many people suffer from anxiety, so don’t worry if you do, or think you might you aren’t alone.

 

Leave a Reply

