Facing Giants

“The Lord is greater than the giants you face.”

(1 John 4:4)

Overcoming

By: Meagan Arrasmith

Moving through life in a blur

Forever thankful for something

Forever regretful for the restperson-clinic-cross-religion-54333.jpeg (1936×1288)

Some words as sweet as candy

Others as sour as lemons                               

People come and go

But the true ones stay by my side

I am forever grateful for those friends

People’s comments cut

And some help heal

But after all it is just temporary

The true Judge is on my side

Watching over me

Day and night

Forever grateful for the One who saved me

And is still on my side

Jesus Christ

After reading this poem, you might be wondering why I have decided to write it. This poem has been written  because I have the desire to let others know that they aren’t alone in their fight. I was bullied through almost all of my elementary school career and some through my middle school career. Others may say things that make you feel broken and worthless but the truth is that nothing that they say matters. Their opinion is worth nothing to you. The only opinion that matters is God’s opinion. God has played a huge part in my life, and I honestly don’t know where I would be without His lasting love and forgiveness. When I came to know Christ it was the best day of my life! I had never before felt so new and refreshed. God is my rock and foundation. He can help you through anything that you are struggling with! For example, kids who go and get involved with church tend to have less addiction problems than kids who don’t. We are made in His image (Genesis 1:27- “So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.”) and made fearfully and wonderfully (Psalm 139:14- “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”). Others may say or do things to you that make you hurt. But in God there is refuge and strength (Psalm 46:1- “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.”). Bullies aren’t any fun. According to the Pacer’s National Bullying Prevention Center, “Almost one out of every four students (22%) report being bullied during the school year” and “The reasons for being bullied reported most often by students were looks (55%), body shape (37%), and race (16%).” But bullies aren’t anything that we need to worry about because we have the ultimate Judge on our side, forever and always. (Romans 8:31- “What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?”).

Below are some songs that I listen to on a daily basis,that just remind me about how good God is to me and how He has blessed me through the good and bad times.

  1. He Knows- Jeremy Camp 
  2. Just Be Held- Casting Crowns 
  3. Tell Your Heart To Beat Again- Danny Gokey 
  4. Shoulders- For King and Country 
  5. Thy Will- Hillary Scott and The Scott Family 
  6. Chain Breaker- Zach Williams 

I would also just like to invite you to share your personal testimony within the comments (if you are comfortable with doing so) or just ask any questions that you might have. I also hope that you might take the time to read other people’s testimonies that have been shared in the comments as well. God bless!

 

                    

Leave a Reply

