Let your voice be heard.

I am not a rape victim, but I am a 14 year old girl, and statistics suggest that 1/6 of my friends will be raped in their lifetimes.

A post shared by Jessica (@jessicam.jones) on

A post shared by Jessica (@jessicam.jones) on

A post shared by Jessica (@jessicam.jones) on

More people are raped every year than you might think, 683,000 to be exact.

That’s 56,916 per month, 1871 per day. 78 per hour and 1.3 per minute.

So why are we acting like it isn’t an issue?

So many people are affected by the rape epidemic in our country; but we continue to ignore it.

It is our inability to get past the discomfort of the topic that leaves millions of rape victims feeling alone, exiled from society.  We shame victims, depriving them of their voice. We teach them that they should be ashamed of something that they could not control. Because “The dress was too short.” “You had too much to drink.” “You led him on.” Even if it isn’t direct we do force rape victims into silence in the way of blaming and shaming them. Coincidentally, 80% of rapes are never reported to the police.

“Now, should we treat women as independent agents, responsible for themselves? Of course. But being responsible has nothing to do with being raped. Women don’t get raped because they were drinking or took drugs. Women do not get raped because they weren’t careful enough. Women get raped because someone raped them.

Jessica Valenti, The Purity Myth: How America’s Obsession with Virginity is Hurting Young Women

We blame the victim before fighting the root of the problem. 

There is no excuse for rape.

Rape happens,

Rape happens to boys and girls, children and adults, poor and rich, people of color and whites; everyone.

You have a voice, and you aren’t alone.

Let your voice be heard.

For more information on reporting rape click here.

Call 1-800-656-4673 to speak with the national sexual assault hotline.

The written portion of my post is nonfiction, based on statistics focusing on the significance of the rape epidemic in our country and my thoughts on them.  As a young girl these facts certainly upset me, but didn’t surprise me, as I have witnessed both sides of the rape issue. I’ve stood by while my male “friends” sexualized girls, oblivious to the fact that it had any effect on me, after all, I wasn’t the target. So why complain? Rape is a problem. I shouldn’t have to feel the deep fear that I feel as I walk alone at night. I shouldn’t have to feel the need to walk a little bit faster after hearing a stranger cat call a group of my friends. We have learned to live with these things without giving them a second thought, but we just shouldn’t have to.  I care about the rape epidemic in our country; I care because I, as a young woman, deal with its effects from the violated and, the real threat it has every day.

What is your opinion on the rape? Have you, or someone that you care about been affected by sexual violence? Share your thoughts in the comment section, let you voice be heard.

Leave a Reply

