Dwelling on the Past and Present, but the Future is all I can Think About…

stairs-man-person-walking.jpg (4562×3042)
images found at: http://www.pixels.com

We asked someone with anxiety to share their story. How they cope with it, how it effects them, and how it challenges them daily. We finally found someone that willingly agreed to do it without fear.

So, here I am.

Here is my Story.

Anxiety for me?

“What if I say the wrong thing?

What if something goes wrong?

What if I sound stupid?

What if no one really cares?

Anxiety can come in many different forms. It differs with everyone who has it. For some people it maybe worse than others. For someone, it may be hard to put into words on how you feel when you have it. You can feel as if it is uncontrollable. You have the want and the need to control it and to stop, but you feel as it is impossible to do so. For me, anxiety attacks are not common. I don’t experience them often. Different things, can trigger anxiety and stress from a person. For me, anxiety is triggered during school or extracurricular activities. It can also be triggered by family or friend situations. A common situation that anxiety is present in, is during school exams, finals, or quizzes. When I know I have a test coming up, I will freak myself out over the stress and worry over it. I will know that I have no need to worry over something that, in all reality, is so miniscule, but at the time, seems like it is the biggest challenge I will face. I initially put too much stress and pressure on myself to pass the test. Sometimes, due to all the stress I place on myself, I forget all of the content that I memorized and studied for beforehand. When I don’t pass a test, I can’t handle it.  I take my worrying too far. I take it to the point where it is where I worry I won’t pass the test, failing the class, not get my credits,getting a failing  grade, failing high school, and every dream and every goal I had set of myself after high school is initially ruined.

 In all reality, I put too much pressure on myself. If I fail a test, if I can’t make it somewhere on time, if I can’t do something, even if I think that it will be the worst thing I will ever face, in all reality, it’s not going to be the end of the world for me. I try so hard to be the best I can be, when having flaws is okay. I won’t pass every test and not everything I do will be perfect. Every day I will wake up, the sun will come up again, and I will go about my day. I will put more pressure on myself than some days, and on other days, I won’t have a care in the world. Everyone will use the phrase “There’s nothing to worry about” or “You’re worrying over nothing.” Some days it may seem that no one understands what you’re feeling, or that you honestly are stressing over nothing. It’s okay though.

 Coming from someone who has anxiety, it’s okay to have it. It’s not the end of the world. Thing with anxiety is that you have to learn how to control it. There is so much you can do to help yourself. Just always tell yourself that it’ll be okay. You’ll wake up, you’ll see the sun, and you will enjoy your life to the fullest.

 And nothing can stop you from doing that.”

Don’t let anxiety be a burden. Let it be a challenge to allow yourself to grow.

Can I just rant for a sec?                 pexels-photo-133021.jpeg (4912×7360)

Tests, hours of studying.  Most people will say, “look at this situation from my point of view.” It’s easier said than done. More people of this generation suffer from anxiety than in past generations. Most people have it as teenagers that go to high school. Why don’t people take the fact that anxiety plays a role in more than half of the teenagers that walk in the hallways there? Students wish above all else, that even as difficult as it may be, to out themselves in out shoes. No, students know that adults and others older than them have to deal with what may seem at the time, much more than what teenagers and students face. Students normally do not have to deal with houses, careers, children, financing, and so much more. Students every day however, are faced with the challenges of their personal education, extra curricular activities, relationships, friendships, and much more that most do not think of when they are in the face of teenagers.

 Teenagers live in a generation where they are faced with so much. Sometimes more than they can think they can handle. Everyday teenagers are told many different things. “Focus on school and your education.” “Be involved in as much as you want and can be.” “Make friends and have a social life.” Yes, most of us want to do all of it. We want to be the best we can be while having as much fun throughout life as possible, but most of the time, we don’t know how to balance it all out.

 That’s where the stress comes into play.

 We try so hard to do it all. We don’t want to fail at anything. It comes to the point though where it feels as it could be too much. With all the exams, tests, hours of studying, ON TOP OF, our family, friends, and extra activities that we want to be involved in,  it can get crazy. We are not taught as students on how to handle it. We are taught so much in high school, except on how to handle the burden we are given. We as students long for the help of others on how to handle it.

 All we want is help on how to handle it. We feel as if no one will help though. So we freak out. We take situations to the extreme and we are told to just “calm down,” but sometimes we don’t know how. We don’t know how to feel, how to handle things, what to think about situations, and so much more.

 But it seems as if no one cares.

Can we just take this in for a second?

No, it’s not a RARE disorder, but it’s a struggle. A struggle that I have to deal with that those who don’t understand it, can’t really relate to. They will want to, but they can’t.

I’m sorry.

But everyday I try hard to act as if nothing is wrong. To act as if I’m perfectly normal. Try to hide myself from others. Paint a smile on my face. Everyday I do it.

Could you live like that?

Could you?

But… What do I do?

pexels-photo-60778.jpeg (2848×3061)Anxiety can be one of the most difficult things to deal with. It can control your whole life. Some people might not even know it’s so bad until it gets to the point where it leads to being a disorder. Most people with the disorder do not know how to cope with it. There are so many things that one can do to control their anxiety. Click here to find out more about it. Everyone has different forms of anxiety. Your doctor can help you in your research into your symptoms and can help you control it in the way that is best suited for you. Click here to learn more.

Anxiety Quotes

Anxiety is the dizziness of freedom.”

Søren Kierkegaard, The Concept of Anxiety: A Simple Psychologically Orienting Deliberation on the Dogmatic Issue of Hereditary Sin

After all, what is happiness? Love, they tell me. But love doesn’t bring and never has brought happiness. On the contrary, it’s a constant state of anxiety, a battlefield; it’s sleepless nights, asking ourselves all the time if we’re doing the right thing. Real love is composed of ecstasy and agony.

Paulo Coelho, The Witch Of Portobello

If you want to conquer the anxiety of life, live in the moment, live in the breath.”

Amit Ray, Om Chanting and Meditation

Life is like a game of chess.

To win you have to make a move.

Knowing which move to make comes with IN-SIGHT

and knowledge, and by learning the lessons that are

acculated along the way.

We become each and every piece within the game called life!

Allan Rufus, The Master’s Sacred Knowledge

Unknown Facts on Anxiety

Anxiety disorders are the most common disorder diagnosed in the U.S., affecting 40 million adults in the United States age 18 and older, or 18% of the population. (Source: National Institute of Mental Health)

  • Anxiety disorders are highly treatable, yet only about one-third of those suffering receive treatment.
  • Anxiety disorders cost the U.S. more than $42 billion a year, almost one-third of the country’s $148 billion total mental health bill, according to “The Economic Burden of Anxiety Disorders,” a study commissioned by ADAA (The Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, 60(7), July 1999).
    • More than $22.84 billion of those costs are associated with the repeated use of health care services; people with anxiety disorders seek relief for symptoms that mimic physical illnesses.
  • People with an anxiety disorder are three to five times more likely to go to the doctor and six times more likely to be hospitalized for psychiatric disorders than those who do not suffer from anxiety disorders.
  • Anxiety disorders develop from a complex set of risk factors, including genetics, brain chemistry, personality, and life events.

Want more facts on anxiety? Click here!

Well I guess in summary…

Everyone struggles with something different. I have anxiety.  Anxiety is one of those disorders where it’s not the same for everyone. Everyone has different symptoms of it, different ways to cope with it, different ideas about it. In all reality, some of the best ways to cope with it, are to distract yourself from it. Surround yourself with people that care about you, that uplift you, that keep your spirits high. Some of your best support in the tough situations, are the people around you that love and care about you. We aren’t going to lie, you’ll have your good days and you’ll have your bad days. But everyday you’ll grow. You’ll come out of a situation stronger than you went into it. And for your next tough battle? You’ll know how to handle some things. Just remember one thing throughout it all…

You are not alone.

I’m here.”

Anxiety Anonymous

dawn-nature-sunset-woman.jpg (2048×1365)

It’s not just a struggle… it’s a obstacle to overcome. Through every challenge, however; we learn and grow along the way.

Lots of people grow from learning from others. Sharing your story just as Anxiety Anonymous did here, is a great way to help others and for others to improve on themselves. Feel free to share your story anonymously if willing.

Leave a Reply

