It’s All In Your Head: Living Life With Depression

Image result for depression

Picture Source

“I didn’t want to wake up. I was having a much better time asleep. And that’s really sad. It was almost like a reverse nightmare, like when you wake up from a nightmare you’re so relieved. I woke up into a nightmare” –Ned Vizzini 

Most people have been through depression. There’s nothing to feel guilty about. You are not alone because we’ve been there too. Here’s to the people who are battling depression just like we did. You can get through it.

Depression is very common for people to be diagnosed with throughout the world. Depression causes irritability, too much rest (or too little), permanent sadness, and weight loss. Do these symptoms relate to you? If so, you might have depression. The most common side effect of depression is suicide or an attempt of suicide. Most people who die from suicide have a mental disorder, which could possibly be depression. There are about 120 suicides per day over a disorder that can be treated in many effective ways.

Talking to someone about your depression can ultimately affect how you feel in a positive way. There’s always a person out there who will listen and help you during hard times. We interviewed one person who experienced depression in her own life, and we are sharing her story with you. Click here to listen to her battle. 

Our Personal Stories

  • Depression was the lowest point in my life. It isolated me from my friends and family. Each and every day I felt worse, like it was never going to end. I felt alone, unworthy and sad. The thoughts that kept running through my head tore me down to the point where suicide was an option. I was young so I didn’t know any better. I was very sensitive to how people viewed me and what people would say, meaning I had a low self-esteem. There were two boys who picked on me. Even though Bryce and Josh said they were joking, they still got to me. All the names they called me and the things they would do, drove me insane. After I had told them to stop many times, they kept going. They didn’t know how they were making me feel inside, but I knew. Because of this, everything started changing, including my mind set. From then on, I was negative about my whole life, questioning if I should give up or not. After a few years of the having the continuous voices in my head, I changed. I realized what I was feeling and how I was living was wrong. I was so negative and never wanted to do anything, I just felt low. Feeling low and alone pushed me towards attending church camp in the summer after sixth grade. I became happy, loving, and grateful for life after I came to know God during that church camp. The joy I feel now is beyond how I felt then. Depression will continue to take over your life until you decide it’s over. It’s not going to last forever, and you will be okay in the end. Today, I can share my story with others and be an example of how to beat depression. If you have gone through depression, I encourage you to be a light in others’ lives and guide them through this rough situation. Maybe a friend is all they need.
  •  I have been through depression. Many things triggered it. I didn’t want to go to school in the morning. I’d wake up in the morning and think, “Why am I doing this?” I’d walk in the hallways and get smirks and mean looks. “Why does everyone hate me?” I thought, “Why do people believe such things they know nothing about?” It had gotten so bad that I sat in a room with no students for a week. I minded my own business. I got back from school and being home wasn’t any better. I locked myself in my room for the majority of the day. My parents didn’t really care, my parents didn’t mind. They didn’t know anything was wrong, no way was I going to tell them. I was lost. I was gone. I wasn’t me anymore. People were so busy trying to ruin my life they were starting to not even care about theirs. Girls stopped wearing their contacts, they stopped straightening their hair, they started failing tests. What was once their biggest priorities, didn’t matter to them at all. All the girls left and sat at a new lunch table, making sure it was filled, so I couldn’t sit down. It was working. The girls made rumors, the boys made rumors. Even my best friend. She didn’t care to ask me what actually happened……majority rules I guess. The word. It circled in my head. “Suicide.” Everyday. All the time. I was broken. However, after a while I found someone to talk to, who was just like me. Going through the same things as me. She was my lifesaver. Having someone to talk to made a world of a difference. I was more lively at school, and I was smiling again. I believe I have become who God intended me to be. I was better than I was before, and I wonder sometimes if it actually made me stronger. I realized that I was letting the people around me and my mind determine who I was. I wasn’t depressed, I was vulnerable. Things will be okay in the end, and things will get better. You have to keep fighting. Maybe all you need is a companion, a person to talk to, a new beginning.

                                                                                Image result for depression

Picture Source

Depression is the voice inside your head that eats away at you, telling you to give up. You don’t have to feel like you are drowning. This disorder is a tough situation to experience, but there are many ways out:

Do you have more questions? Visit the National Institute for Mental Health for information on depression.

Share your stories with us. How has depression impacted your life? 

Leave a Reply

