Struggle of Life

 

Depressionfeelings of severe despondency and dejection.

Depression is a topic that really stands out to us, due to personally experiences.  We have all seen how it affects someone, and then ends up affecting people close to the person. We’ve had close friends struggle to get through depression, even one of our group members, so we thought sharing our group member’s story might encourage someone with depression to keep going  on in life and never give up.

Depression is the feeling of severe despondency and dejection, that’s what Webster’s dictionary tells us.  All of us have felt down at one point in our life. Some of us remain in sorrow for a while, others find happiness the next day. Depression can happen to anyone, it can happen to everyone. Depression is universal, depression doesn’t care how old you are, how you look,what gender you are, your race, or your religion. Depression can happen for any reason, at anytime, anywhere. Depression is extremely frequent among teens. Studies show that 1 in 4 people suffer from depression at one point in their life. They are often diagnosed with clinical depression which is thought to be caused by chemical imbalances in the brain. This can be caused by a number of reasons like mood regulation, genetics, medications, medical problems, and stressful life events. No one has ever defined or put boundaries on what stressful life events are; they can be anything, there are no constraints. Every single human on earth has different levels of tolerance, no one is alike, no one is the same. This makes depression very hard to diagnose because there are no set boundaries doctors can check for. It’s not like the cold or the flu, you can’t check if they have a fever or if they are throwing up. Depression can be caused by anything because of every human’s genetic code. Depression has been caused by somethings we think are minor like a break up or losing a friend. Others are caused by very traumatic situation , rape, bullying, or even drug abuse. Depression runs rampant in our youth and especially our young adults and teens. It’s almost a rare occasion when we see teens being diagnosed with depression and they are able to get help. Some of us are afraid to talk, some don’t even think anything is wrong with themselves. They go on living their own life clueless of anything being wrong with them. There are so many teens that are unable to speak and get help from others.

One of our Stories

sl_stressbrainEighth grade year was amazing, everything was seemingly in my favor.  I had awesome friends, a cute boyfriend, and made good grades.  I made so many memories with great people that year, every weekend my friends and I would hang out and take like a million selfies just so there was record of how much fun we had that day.  I thought the guy I was dating, was the guy I was going to marry. I was also very happy, because My parents were proud of me for making good grades.  Then things changed for the worst, everything in my life felt messed up.  It was the second week of summer break and my boyfriend cheated on me.  I thought i wasn’t going to be able to live without him, so I kept giving him chances until he finally stopped talking to me. I was heart broken.  To make matters worse my two best friends got into a fight, and of course I had to get involved.  I took sides with the one, and the other one was left friendless all summer.  My friend introduced me to this guy and i thought he was the most perfect human alive, I really thought me and him would end up dating.  I was wrong.  He picked my best friend.  I spent the end of summer break crying in my room, and ignoring the few friends I had left.  I felt like everyone hated me.  I felt like a waste of space.  I felt betrayed by everyone I trusted. I felt worthless.   Then the highly dreaded day was finally here,  the first day of high school it was worse than I expected, I had no one. I walked the hallways with my head down, I spent my lunch time alone, staring at my food.  I couldn’t think right, I felt numb inside.  The only thing I had to look forward to was sleeping, I couldn’t get enough sleep my life revolved around getting as much sleep as possible.  I started to stopped caring about my grades, I couldn’t see a bright future for myself so why even try to do good in school. I knew people at school hated me and talked bad about me, but I hated myself so l didn’t care.  I really did try to feel better and not be so down on myself all of the time, I would tell myself that I am happy.  I would try to smile, I really wanted to convince myself that my life didn’t suck, and I had a good life.  The smile was fake, the smile would turn into a frown, then into tears.   My parents started noticed that I was acting different so they took me to therapy, and I also got put on medication to help with the symptoms.  Going to therapy really helped me out, I had someone to tell everything to without the fear of judgement.  I eventually started making friends and getting a little bit of confidence in myself.  I had a better outlook on life, I came to realize that I wasn’t worthless, or a waste of space.  I didn’t hate myself anymore, when I smiled it would be real. I truly was happy again.  Trying to hide that i was depressed was useless, I should of got help sooner.

inspirational-photo

Surprising facts about Depression

  1. Around 20% of Americans suffer from depression each year.
  2. About 1 in 4 Americans will suffer from depression in their lifetime.
  3. Around 15% of those who suffer from depression take their lives each year.
  4. The World Health Organization thinks depression will be the second highest medical cause of disability by the year 2030, second to HIV/AIDS.
  5. Most people with depression have eating disorders like anorexia, bulimia or binge eating disorder.
  6. About 80% of people with depression aren’t being treated.
  7. Women are more likely to have depression than men.
  8. There are about 350 million people around the world that suffers from depression.
  9. Teen suicide is the third leading  cause of death in young people
  10. People who are depressed are more prone to illnesses like colds than non-depressed people.

Depression is very serious and shouldn’t be taken lightly, and we feel like depression is a subject that needs to be brought to everyone’s attention.   I hope that by sharing one of our group members stories it will encourage people to stay strong, and never give up.   Life might seem terrible in the moment, but life will get better, and everything will workout.  We would love to hear from you if you have any stories you’d like to share with us about your experiences with depression.

Leave a Reply

